Judith Plotz Emerging Scholar Award

NOMINATION FORM - Deadline November 1

Awarded annually by the Children's Literature Association to recognize outstanding articles of literary criticism by new, never-before-published article authors. The focus of the article should be a literary, historical, theoretical, or cultural examination of children's texts and/or children's culture, although other items may also be included in the analysis. Eligible articles must be the first article published by a given author and must be written in English exclusively by the author(s) or translator(s) whose name(s) appear(s) on the article and must have been published during the year under consideration. Articles should provide new insights into the field, making a distinct or significant scholarly contribution to the understanding of children's literature. Reprints of previously published articles are not eligible.

2019 Award

Winner: Elizabeth Massa Hoiem for “Radical Cross-Writing for Working Children: Toward a Bottom-up History of Children’s Literature.” The Lion & the Unicorn vol. 41, no. 1, 2017: 1-27.

2018 Award

Winner: Cara Byrne for “Every Tongue Silenced So One Voice Resounds: Redefining Zora Neale Hurston’s Legacy in Adapted Picture Books” Children’s Literature Association Quarterly 41.4 (Winter 2016): 365-383

Honor: Katherine Magyarody for “Odd Woman, Odd Girls: Reconsidering How Girls Can Help to Build Up the Empire: The Handbook for Girl Guides and Early Guiding Practices, 1909–1918” Children’s Literature Association Quarterly 41.3 (Fall 2016): 238-262

2017 Award

Winner: Megan L. Musgrave for “Gaming as Civic Engagement in Salman Rushdie’s Luka and the Fire of Life,” Children’s Literature Association Quarterly 40.3 (Fall 2015): 238-256.

Honor: Arielle C. McKee for “The Kind of Tale Everybody Thneeds?: Ecocriticism, Class, and the Filmic Lorax,” Children’s Literature Association Quarterly 40.1 (Spring 2015): 39-57.

2016 Award

Winner: Niall Nance-Carroll for "Innocence is No Defense: Politicized Childhood in Antonio Skármeta’s La composición/The Composition,” Children's Literature in Education 45.4 (December 2014): 271-284.

Honor: Daniel Feldman for "Reading Games in Auschwitz: Play in Holocaust Youth Literature," The Lion and the Unicorn 38.3 (September 2014): 360-380.